Saturday, September 8, 2007

Siouxsie Sioux Goes Solo

Siouxsie Sioux
releases her much anticipated solo album 'Mantaray' on Monday.

Outsider Ice Queen Siouxsie Sioux is up there with all the other rock legends of our time. Having performed for the first time with her exhibitionist experimentalist band Siouxsie & the Banshees in 1976, with Sid Vicious on drums, this Sioux has snowballed to greater things each time. Perhaps it was the influence of the London Bromley suburbs, or was it the influence of Velvet Underground, Can, Bowie or J.G. Ballard. No matter, on tour the gender bending Banshees soon built up a large following scoring them their 1st top ten hit in 1978 with Hong Kong Garden. Those were the early days. What followed now was 17 years of material recorded under the Banshees moniker but also as The Creatures with then husband and drummer Budgie.

And now? Siouxsie Sioux finally makes her solo 10 track debut that portrays an a unique sense of personal freedom that ranges from an industrial stomp to electronic mutterings and glam affairs of the heart. Lyrical themes on the album include disappointment, distrust and despair, but overlying this is a warmth of spirit. The track listing is as follows:

1. Into A Swan
2. About To Happen
3. Here Comes That Day
4. Loveless
5. If It Doesn't Kill You
6. One Mile Below
7. Drone Zone
8. Sea Of Tranquilty
9. They Follow You
10. Heaven And Alchemy